About District

Siang District is the 21st district of Arunachal Pradesh State, India. This district was created by bifurcating West Siang and East Siang districts of Arunachal Pradesh consisting of 32-Rumgong-Kaying and 35-Boleng-Pangin Constituencies. The district was inaugurated on 27 November 2015 by Chief Minister Nabam Tuki.

The name of the district is derived from the mighty Brahmaputra River, which in Arunachal Pradesh is known as the Siang river. It is predominantly inhabited by Adi tribe of Arunachal Pradesh.

Geographically, Siang District is located almost in the centre of the Siang belt of Arunachal Pradesh. Pangin is about 80 km from Pasighat, 30 km from Along and 22 km from Boleng.

The creation of Siang district was approved by the Arunachal Pradesh government of Nabam Tuki on 21 March 2013. Eighteen months later the Pangin town was announced as the temporary headquarters of the new state, amid claims that Boleng town had been promised the role.

Speaking in Pangin, Siang district was declared to be the 21st district of Arunachal Pradesh by Nabam Tuki on 27 November 2015. The new district was created to make the administration closer to the public. Funding was promised at that time for the construction of a district secretariat at Peram in Pangin, other offices in Pangin, also a small stadium, for school, hospital, housing, bridge and road construction and other developments.

Adi,a Sino-Tibetan language, is the language spoken by the people of this district.

Pangin is the temporary headquarter of the district.The main administrative centres which falls under the district are Additional Deputy Commissioner (ADCs) Rumgong, Kaying and Boleng. Presently, it has 9 Zilla Parishad members i.e, Jomlo Mobuk, Rumgong, Kaying, Payum, Boleng, Riga, Rebo-Perging, Pangin, and Kebang.